Kalgoorlie is an electoral district of the Legislative Assembly of Western Australia covering an area of 632,816 km² (244,332 sq mi).

The district includes not only the town of Kalgoorlie, but significant parts of the outback in central and eastern Western Australia.

Long a Labor stronghold, the district has more recently become a very competitive seat.


The district of Kalgoorlie was first created for the 1901 state election and has continued to exist as an electorate ever since. Over its first 100 years it was always represented by the Labor Party with the exception of two interruptions between 1905 and 1911 and 1921 and 1923.

Labor has not held the seat since 2001 when Liberal Party candidate defeated incumbent MP Megan Anwyl at the 2001 state election. Oddly, this was also an election that brought Labor into government. Indeed, Anwyl was the only Labor MP to lose her seat at that election.


Always based on the town of Kalgoorlie, the redistribution ahead of the 2008 state election saw a significant expansion of the seat to include remote areas to the north and north-east of the town. This was made necessary by electoral reform which meant that, where previously all non-metropolitan districts could have significantly lower enrolment than their metropolitan (i.e. Perth) counterparts, now the only districts permitted to contain low enrolment are those that cover vast geographical areas. So whilst most of its population is based in the town of Kalgoorlie, the district also includes remote communities such as Laverton, Leinster, Leonora, Menzies, Sandstone, Warburton and Wiluna.


Member Party Term
  William Johnson Labor 1901–1905
  Norbert Keenan Ministerial 1905–1911
  Albert Green Labor 1911–1913
  George McLeod Labor 1914
  Albert Green Labor 1914–1921
  John Boyland Independent Nationalist 1921–1922
  James Cunningham Labor 1923–1936
  Herbert Styants Labor 1936–1956
  Tom Evans Labor 1956–1980
  Edward Evans Labor 1980–1981
  Ian Taylor Labor 1981–1996
  Megan Anwyl Labor 1996–2001
  Matt Birney Liberal 2001–2008
  John Bowler Independent 2008–present


Go to top